Er Rashid is land grabber, allege villagers

 

Hang me if I am wrong: MLA

IRFAN RASHID

SRINAGAR:

Scores of villagers from Langate area of north Kashmir’s Kupwara district today held a protest demonstration against Independent MLA Engineer Abdul Rashid, accusing him of land grab.
“Er Rashid is a cheat person who has grabbed 4 kanals and 11 Marlas of land of an old widow woman in Langate constituency with the help of local police,” alleged villagers on Monday. Scores of villagers including females assembled here in press colony.
Speaking to Rising Kashmir, Saaja whose land is said to be grabbed in intervening night of Sunday-Monday said, “It is shame for Rashid, he took my 4 kanals of land, I am an old widow woman where will I go, even police came to us beat my daughter-in-law.” She could not hold her tears which flowed down her pale cheeks after revealing her inner grudges. Nazir Ahmad War, son of Saaja revealed that till ending 2011, they were unaware that Rashid has transferred 4 kanals of land out of 15 kanals and 16 marlas field with Khasra number 116, field number 32 and khata number 207 to his credit with the help of dishonest Patwari and Tehsildar.
“His gift to our constituency after winning elections in 2008 was to transfer our land illegally in that year,” alleged Nazir, who is a teacher in Khudi Middle school, Mawar.
After that, the family had lodged a complaint against Rashid in Additional Deputy Commissioner’s office who had then forwarded that to divisional Commissioner’s office. The expected next hearing is on 29th instant. Nazir said: “Few days back, SHO Handwara himself came to me and took me to SP office to negotiate with Rashid. SHO told me to put leave through phone in my school. But to my utter shock, I came to know that Rashid has went for inspection to the school and suspended me…sent my case to CEO.”
To strong his position on next hearing before divisional commissioner Kashmir, Rashid has allegedly called 37 carpenters, bought 15 quintals of tin in intervening night of Sunday-Monday to make his piece of land distinct from land of Saaja.
“When I went to our field for collecting grass, I saw people in civil uniform with guns…later I got to know they were police and many labours installing tin,” alleged Zubedah Nazir, daughter-in-law of Saaja
“When I enquired, they (police) pushed me away. Later when many villagers assembled to photo shoot the scene, police has allegedly snatched their phones.”
Talking to Rising Kashmir, Er Abdul Rashid, MLA Langate, refuted the allegations, saying: “There was already a school functioning in 2006. From 2005 to 2012 there is not a single complaint filed. It was only in 2013 when he approached ADC Handwara. Had there been any dispute in the land why didn’t it came up when I was not any public figure.” Adding, “If you find even one percent truthfulness in them, just hang me.”
Leave a Reply

